Alameda County Firework Laws

  • All FIREWORKS are PROHIBITED in ALAMEDA COUNTY, with exceptions as follows:
    • Use Requires:
      • Public Display by Licensed Pyrotechnic Operator AND Local Fire Department Approval
    • Safe and Sane Fireworks are permitted in Dublin, Newark, and Union City ONLY
      • MUST be used in the city of purchase, per the City’s use ordinance.
      • All other cities within Alameda County DO NOT permit use of Safe and Sane Fireworks!

The house you save could be your own!

For More Information on where to drop off Fireworks

Contact your Local Fire Department Monday thru Friday between the hours of 8:00 am – 4:00 pm.  
After hours, contact your local Police Department

Alameda City 510-337-2120

Albany 510-528-5775

Berkeley 510-981-5585

Berkeley Lab 510-486-6999

Castro Valley 510-833-3473

Dublin 925-833-6606


Emeryville 510-596-3759

Fremont 510-494-4200

Hayward 510-583-4900

Livermore 925-454-2361

Newark 510-578-4218

Oakland 510-238-3851   


Piedmont 510-420-3030

Pleasanton 925-454-2361

San Leandro 510-618-3490

Union City 510-675-5470

U.C. Berkeley 510-642-3073

Uninc. ALCO 925-833-6606       


Statistical Report